DSCN2711                    

Now a days  it’s so easy to just run out and buy a little gift for a teacher, loved one, partner, wife or husband.  What’s happened to our creativity?  Why can’t we just make a little something, after all, don’t we say, it’s the thought that counts?

So , I thought I would make a few suggestions. Today, I worked on little hearts, since Valentine’s day is around the corner. But if you don’t celebrate holidays it could be for any day that you wish to show your love or appreciation.

These are so easy to make.

1. Find a heart pattern.

2. Cut it out from your choice of fabric, I used felt.

3. Sew it, leaving a little space open to stuff it or you can sew it all around and then cut a little slit in the back and then stuff it, whichever is easier to do. I actually had to do this to one of them because I forgot to leave a little opening.

I made my hearts to look like the heart candy they sell around this time.  I chose felt in different colors and then stitched little sayings on them.

They  can be used as magnets, sachet packets, a heart garland, or simply a token of appreciation, I’m thinking a little rhinestone would look pretty on them. They don’t have to be perfect, because life is not perfect, right?

These would be a great craft for older kids to do as well using a big needle if they don’t know how to use a sewing machine.

DSCN2723

DSCN2715                         DSCN2725

DSCN2731

“We are all apprentices in a craft where no one becomes a master”—Ernest Hemingway

