Happy November 1st.

DSCN1979

Love my purple and yellow mums.

Many people are not aware that their public libraries offer many free programs, for children as well as for adults. The programs can be for crafts, for entertainment or they can be educational.

Before I retired from  the library I started a quilting program for our public.  Anyone could sign up, if interested, all they needed to bring was their supplies: fabric, scissors and thread, plus a needle. We meet once a month, the last Thursday of each month.

We hand sew the pieces together, but we can use the machine if we want to connect all the squares.

This was our first project. Not being a traditional quilter, it was quite a challenge for me, because my squares were not coming out all the same size. Trimming the squares was essential for uniformity and was very frustrating! We used the pattern called rail fence.

DSCN2001          DSCN2003

It’s not quite finished, I still need to sew on the binding.

Our new project will be something liked this.

DSCN1995

The pattern is a little whacky, the cuts are not supposed to be all the same size and I’m not sure if I like it or not.  The colors that I will be using are pinks and greens, which I love, but they’re just not showing up with clarity in my picture.

Next is the apron I plan on making with dish towels and fabric.  I thought using terry dish towels would work well for wiping or drying hands, which for me would work great, since I am always using paper towels.  This would be a great way to save some trees!  And I’m not sure which fabric I’ll use.

DSCN2016   DSCN2012

Sewing mends the soul.

Unknown Author

